top of page

A Journey of 500 myrrh branches, spices, nutmeg, slaves, and gold: Reflections on Traveling through

Have you ever loved an adventure so deeply, but couldn't figure why, or a way to express your feelings? I have; especially my journey on the Indian Ocean, and I decided to share my experience on my blog.

In September of 639, I decided to visit Mecca, considering the rise of popularity after Muhammad’s birth. I experienced the sudden rise of Islam and the rise of commerce in Mecca and other Arab cities. The Arabic empire initiated in the 7th century and was successful, seeing that many other civilizations converted into Islam voluntarily. In Mecca and neighboring cities, I rode camels (they were domesticated, especially for trade in the Silk and Sand Roads). I also learned how to make perfume using extracted oils from frankincense and myrrh. What I enjoyed the most of the Islamic cities was of course, the gratitude and hospitality (they always confused me for a merchant). Although the Arabic cities were gorgeous and appealing, I had to visit India of course.

In February of 643, I arrived at Java, India. It’s very crowded because there are over 20,000 families living here. I met King Babur during my time there. He is covered in fragrances, his neck holds many necklaces, and his sandals are made out of leather. He cannot and will not walk, therefore, he rides an elephant. India seems warm and safe to me, considering that criminals are executed. As I roamed the streets of Bengal, I saw a giraffe, I think it was a giraffe. I then, visited Borobudur, which is the largest buddhist monument in the world. It is an enormous mountain-shaped structure of ten levels, with a three mile walkway and elaborate carvings illustrating the spiritual journey from ignorance and illusion to full enlightenment.

As a woman, I am enjoying India considering that it is more open to women and rights. Apparently, women can initiate a divorce, and own property. After visiting Angkor Wat, I discovered women serve as gladiators, warriors, palaces staff, poets, religious teachers. My tour guide insisted, “It is the women who are concerned with the commerce”, which empowered me to share such experience.I enjoyed India because their culture is voluntarily influenced by many empires, therefore, its rich and diverse.

After discovering that Hinduism and Buddhism initiated in this empire, and spread throughout Asia, I also discovered that India specializes its commerce on grain, ivory, precious stones, cotton textiles, timber, and of course, spices.

I left India in search of silk, porcelain, and tea, and landed on China in November 549. China is currently having an economic and political revival after the fall of the Han Dynasty. China has been unified by the Tang and Song Dynasties.

In fact, China is stronger than ever and it's currently building large and powerful ships to trade through the Indian Ocean. I enjoyed China, I learned so much about the culture, religion, and power. I spent a few weeks in China, one of the hottest trading spots, and analyzed how happy people were.

I left China on a junk on March 650, just in time for the Monsoons. Considering the time of the year, thanks to the monsoon I was going to travel eastward in direction of East Africa.

I arrived at East Africa on July 650, and felt completely different. Of course, I was sick and needed to sleep on an actual bed, but I knew adventure and culture-exploring was waiting for me. I stayed at the Swahili states, where they spoke Bantu Languages. I was completely surprised when I heard they successfully traded with Greek, Arabic, and Roman merchants. I was even more astonished when I learned how rich Africa actually was in resources, these being; gold, ivory, quartz, leopard skins, slaves, iron, timber. Something I found funny was that they told me a giraffe mysteriously appeared in a ship, now I understand why I saw a giraffe in Bengal. I stayed more time at East Africa than other civilizations because I felt connected to the pure culture. I saw the rapid growth of villages expanding into towns, and chiefs upgrading to kings. I even got to learn to play the Makayo -Polynesian Xylophone.

After twenty years of living on the Indian Ocean Trade routes, I realized it benefited civilizations greatly. Considering that cultures and economies expanded either voluntarily or forced, such changes will impact the future culture and structure in Europe, Asia, and Africa. Just like the merchants in the Indian Ocean Trade Route encouraged others to spread ideals, I encourage you to travel and experience the Indian Ocean Trade Route yourself. It sure is something you don't want to miss!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page